Our School

Lauriston School is a five classroom, rural, co-educational State Primary School that educates pupils from New Entrants to Year 6 with a continually growing roll of 105 students (110 by the end of 2021). 

It contributes to Mount Hutt College in Methven. It was established in 1883 and is situated in the Lauriston township which is in the Hakatere-Ashburton District. It is approximately 23km from Ashburton and 18km from Methven.

The school is situated in a pleasant rural setting. It has 5 classroom spaces and a library.  It has a filtered, heated swimming pool, a turf court, extensive playing fields, an adventure playground and a school farm. We are very well resourced.


The school motto is READY for Success. We value and encourage: Respect, Enterprise, Achievement, and Determination, while developing student choice, independence, and responsibility (it’s up to You).


There is a very supportive parent community who generously attend school events, fund-raising efforts, school-based occasions, and sports days. Parent help is encouraged to support classroom programmes. Teachers promote a partnership between home and school to support children’s learning. There is a high expectation of good behaviour and achievement by the parent community, and teachers support parents in encouraging their children to be motivated and improve at school.


Lauriston is a district which historically has been mainly involved in cropping and mixed farming practices. However, in more recent years dairying has become increasingly represented, which has enriched the cultural diversity of our school.


The school community is at the heart of the wider community. There is considerable cross-involvement of people with school and other district-based activities and groups. Staff involvement in district activities helps foster the school/community interaction. Lauriston School is a member of the Opuke Kahui Ako-which consists of 9 kura-Dorie, Chertsey, Rakaia, Lauriston, Methven, Our Lady of Snows, Mt Hutt College, Mt Somers-Springburn and Mayfield schools-and 8 Early childhood centres. The Kahui Ako was formed in 2017 and Lauriston School has contributed significant leadership to the Kahui ako over the years-with 4 within school teachers connected to teacher inquiry covering Student Agency, Innovative Learning and Early Childhood transition. Our Principal, Colin Brodie was the Kahui Ako Lead Principal from 2019-2021 and our Junior Lead Teacher, Georgie Turpie is a current Initiative Lead Teacher for Early Childhood Transition, working alongside Shun Koizumi the ECE lead teacher for the Kahui Ako.


Lauriston School has a dedicated and capable Board of Trustees who are very focused on student achievement and incredibly supportive of staff, students and their families.


Our school community values the warm feeling of our school. Relationship is our principal investment and we care deeply for our people. The school whakatauki, ‘He maunga, he tangata – Every person is a mountain’ recognises that every individual has strengths and potential, and that everyone has a role to play in contributing to our school and in continuing it’s legacy as a fantastic country school.


Our school has a strong culture of respect, high expectations around achievement, and on student wellbeing, independence and resilience.


We have an outstanding staff, a team of passionate teachers and caring support staff, who deliver quality education, focused on individual learners, and in getting the best out of each student.


We celebrate talents and success, and provide great opportunities for learning, ensuring our students are READY for Success when they leave for the next stage in their educational journey.